New run, new shoes

If you’ve followed me over the last few blog posts, you will know that I’ve had a recurring problem with my soleus muscle.

Books and magazines always preach the same solution – as do all the runners I’ve met. Good footwear. One book, 4 Months to a 4 hour marathon summarised running in bad shoes as “What would you rather drive to work in? A new Mercedes with air con, deluxe stereo and two flat tyres…?”.

Interesting comparison – so I decided it was about time I went and got proper gait analysis. I trotted off to my local SweatShop. I tried several pairs of trainers (I overpronate a lot – incase you are interested) and it was a toss up between three different pairs.

Adidas Supernova Sequence 2

Adidas Supernova Sequence 2

You REALLY can’t worry about the cost. So, I told the helpful shop assistant to not tell me the price, so I wasn’t influenced at all. But in the end, I settled for a pair of Adidas Supernova Sequence 2. On the runs I’ve done so far, they are very comfortable. I really cannot fault them. And luckily enough, they were the cheapest of all those I tested.

Another nugget of wisdom commonly offered is to have several pairs of trainers. 3 pairs in fact. 2 pairs to train in (alternate them between runs, especially if they get wet) and a third race pair. The race pair are broken in on training runs three weeks or so, before the big race. I’ll give it a couple more runs, before I invest in another pair or so.

I certainly need to get another pair when I ramp up my training for the Virgin London Marathon. More about that craziness in my next blog posts.

Leave a Reply

